Action Alert – Family needs help Restoring Dead Son’s Memorial


Tim Sumner at 9/11 Families for a Safe & Strong America.org posted a link in the comments of one of my posts that I found deeply disturbing. As a matter of fact what I felt was close to out of control rage rather than anger. If you visit my blog often, then you know my family lost my nephew in Kuwait March 5, 2004. You also know that I strongly support our Troops, the War in Afghanistan, and Iraq. That’s why I saw a molten hot lava of rage when I went to the link he referred me to and read the post. Here are some excerpts:

Marine’s Memorial in Michigan Vandalized:

Northern Michigan’s 9&10news.com (CBS TV affiliate) has the story:

“Its the idea that somebody vandalizing something that means so much to so many, I have trouble understanding,” an anguished Linda Fabian said while viewing a memorial to a fallen Marine from Mt. Pleasant, MI, that had been vandalized….


Police say someone twisted what it represents. They bent a twenty-foot flagpole, draped that flag on the monument, burned a part of the flag, stole a bronze eagle, and destroyed a lot of the flowers and plants that surround it….

If you would like to donate money to help fix the memorial in Mount Pleasant, there is an account set up at Isabella Bank and Trust under the name Justin Ellsworth.

It sure would be nice if we could help fix this Memorial. I wanted to try to do the same thing for my nephew. It cost at least three thousand dollars, minimum. Go over to Tim Sumner’s site at the link above and read the rest of this awful story.

I simply cannot imagine anyone defacing a Memorial to a dead soldier. That soldier gave his life freely for our safety and well being! He should be honored and respected. Can you imagine how his family must be hurting right now? I can.

Someone tried to steal or take the picture off my nephew’s grave. Believe me when I say the sick feeling in the pit of your stomach is indescribable! It hurts to think someone would so dishonor someone you loved so dearly! Please help these people restore their son’s Memorial if you can. Every dollar helps!

As for the criminals who vandalized the Memorial, they should get huge fines and Community Service in a Cemetery cutting the grass and doing up keep where they can watch the families bury their dead there every day and see what it is like for those families. They also ought to be required to give a public apology to the family, friends, and community where the departed soldier now rests! Even then, they get off pretty easy. I hope the rest of their lives they remember what they have done the little SOB’s!

~ by devildog6771 on July 25, 2007.

2 Responses to “Action Alert – Family needs help Restoring Dead Son’s Memorial”

  1. I am so sorry that this happened. My sister lost her only son in Kuwait. It’s been three years and it may as well have happened yesterday. It has affected us all. Someone tried to steal the picture embedded in Mike’s stone.

    This isn’t about protesting the war and defending the troops. This is about an element in this country that doesn’t respect America or our Constitution.

    I read a great post about how Putin is rebuilding a Fascists Russia that honors Stalin. Like the Nazis, they are putting uniforms on kids and raising a group of mindless automatons who speak the party line and talk the talk of the party.

    I say why don’t our “Progressive” friends go their and live they way they want to live? I hope they do. I also hope the door doesn’t hit them in the butt on the way out too!

  2. Hi,

    My name is Linda Fabian and knowing someone did this to our monument sickens me. When I first discovered the damages I was angry, hurt, frustrated and confused. Justin has already given all that he could possibly give and yet they still took from him. I am frustrated as my son is also in the Marines and the thoughts of him and all of our kids fighting this war and they are actually protecting the very person/persons that did this. The part that really angers me is that our local police “chose” to do nothing with the initial investigation. Actually there was NO investigation. It was not until the second vandilism that they “decided” to go public with any of it. At this point I do not know if I am more angry at the person/persons that did this or our so called local police who chose to do nothing.
    The flag pole WILL be replaced hopefully this week and the flag will fly because Justin deserves this and so much more.

Leave a comment