“Bush 41 feels his son’s pain”


I read a rather surprising article at the CNN Tickler tonight. The article, Ed Henry: Bush 41 feels his son’s pain, describes how the senior Bush worries about his son and monitors the news on half a dozen TV sets so he can keep up on current issues. Of course he also catches any negative remarks and criticisms made about the younger Bush:

The current President Bush prides himself on saying he doesn’t pay much attention to the critics who bombard him via television, newspapers and the Internet. But I want to let you in on a little secret: his father keeps tabs on all of it.

I don’t suppose we take much time thinking of our elected officials as having every day worries and stress the same as we do!

Bush 41 has a unique perspective on what it’s like to take the slings and arrows of being commander-in-chief, especially when it comes to dealing with a war in the Persian Gulf. After all, he’s only the second former president in history, after John Adams, to watch his son follow him into the White House.

I can’t begin to imagine how hard it would be to deal with the effects of such responsibilities as the President has every day. It is beyond my comprehension. Then to have to watch your own son experience the same responsibilities and struggle with the good and the bad that goes with it every day would be hard. I constantly have to bite my tongue with my kids and allow them to make their own decisions and mistakes.

According to the younger, Bush he doesn’t pay attention to the media coverage or the political arrows pointed his direction:

“And I’ve never been one to really worry about that, you know? Because when it’s all said and done I think the key thing in life is to look in the mirror and say, ‘I didn’t compromise my core beliefs.'”

The elder Bush tries to take it all in stride. When someone says hurtful things or questions the integrity of my kids, my feathers ruffle. So from that perspective, I can imagine how the senior Bush must feel:

His father, on the other hand, clearly has some bruised feelings. He’s not just a former president — he’s a Dad.

I wasn’t expecting to read such a fair and, for lack of a better word, humane article. Then I read the comments. I was surprised at the venom in most of the posts. I find it hard to believe that those comments reflect the views and opinions of most Americans.

It is a moderated forum. All comments are not shown. So, as a reader, I would have to trust that those comments approved and posted are reflective of the public view of President Bush, that there was no bias involved in the selection process. Frankly I find it hard to accept. Go read the article and then the comments. Am I wrong?

~ by devildog6771 on November 10, 2007.

4 Responses to ““Bush 41 feels his son’s pain””

  1. CNN is not known for being a Bush fan. Maybe a higher up pulled it. I don’t really know though. I was so surprised when I saw it I couldn’t resist posting on it!

  2. CNN took the article down very shortly after it was posted. This is unusual. Usually political ticker articles stay up for days. Does anybody know what happened? Did the Bush family object to the article or the comments?

  3. Well, that’s one reason I posted it. The second was my shock at reading all the comments posted at the site where I found the story. Many were darn right cruel. You know, when my nephew was killed, George Bush personally called to offer his condolences.

  4. Wow- that’s definitely a perspective that I have never ever considered. I’m no Bush fan… ok, I’m bordering on a Bush-hater, but I never once considered this perspective of looking at him. Makes him more human.

Leave a Reply

 
