Someone stole God and I can’t find him!!


So, into whose hands are our fallen delivered, Satan? I thought we lived in “one Nation, under God, indivisible, with Liberty and Justice for all!” Dwight Eisenhower approved adding “under God” to the Pledge of Allegiance on June 14, 1954 on Flag Day because:

“In this way we are reaffirming the transcendence of religious faith in America’s heritage and future; in this way we shall constantly strengthen those spiritual weapons which forever will be our country’s most powerful resource in peace and war.”

So, tell me again why we can’t say God at Military funerals?

When I saw photographs of empty coffins draped with the Flag being carried by ANSWER and Code Pink in one of their protest rallies, I was angered. I was also hurt, as a veteran and member of a family who lost a loved one since the War in Afghanistan and Iraq started. I couldn’t believe that those people protesting the war would resort to such insensitive tactics to protest the War in Iraq.

I thought to myself, do those people not realize how much pain they are causing military families and the troops. What about the fact they are dishonoring the sacrifices and memory of those fallen. What kind of message are they sending to our enemy? But that wasn’t enough.

Next our “Progressive” politicians felt it necessary to try to pull out our troops like many of their leaders did with their protests in the 60’s during Vietnam. When that failed, they tried to top the funding for the war and subsequently our troops. Those efforts also, basically, failed.

Next the various anarchists started protesting outside Walter Reed, military bases, and other points where our troops were injured, returning or departing from or to combat, and our recruiting offices. In an effort to further inflame and defile veterans now and in the past they started defacing memorials, grave sites, and other forms of remembrances of our fallen troops. All of this was done as a “show of support for our troops and a protest of the war!” Yeah, right!!

But, the latest attack against our troops and the fallen is really, to me, the “straw that broke the camel’s back.” A Military Funeral was being held in Riverside, California at one of “127” National Cemeteries for our fallen brothers and sisters. Conducted with full Military Honors, Taps was played, the Twenty-one gun Salute was heard. The Flag was removed from the departed soldier’s coffin.

In a time honored tradition, the “flag-folding ceremony” begins as the following is recited:

folding the flag

The first fold of our flag is a symbol of life.

The second fold is a symbol of our belief in the eternal life.

The third fold is made in honor and remembrance of the veteran departing our ranks who gave a portion of life for the defense of our country to attain a peace throughout the world.

The fourth fold represents our weaker nature, for as American citizens trusting in God, it is to Him we turn in times of peace as well as in times of war for His divine guidance.

folded flag

The fifth fold is a tribute to our country, for in the words of Stephen Decatur, “Our country, in dealing with other countries, may she always be right; but it is still our country, right or wrong.”

The sixth fold is for where our hearts lie. It is with our heart that we pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation, under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

The seventh fold is a tribute to our Armed Forces, for it is through the Armed Forces that we protect our country and our flag against all her enemies, whether they be found within or without the boundaries of our republic.

The eighth fold is a tribute to the one who entered in to the valley of the shadow of death, that we might see the light of day, and to honor mother, for whom it flies on mother’s day.

burial flag

The ninth fold is a tribute to womanhood; for it has been through their faith, love, loyalty and devotion that the character of the men and women who have made this country great have been molded.

The tenth fold is a tribute to father, for he, too, has given his sons and daughters for the defense of our country since they were first born.

The eleventh fold, in the eyes of a Hebrew citizen, represents the lower portion of the seal of King David and King Solomon, and glorifies, in their eyes, the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.

The twelfth fold, in the eyes of a Christian citizen, represents an emblem of eternity and glorifies, in their eyes, God the Father, the Son, and Holy Ghost.

When the flag is completely folded, the stars are uppermost, reminding us of our national motto, “In God we Trust.”

burial flag

(Wait for the Honor Guard or Flag Detail to inspect the flag, after the inspection, resume reading.)

After the flag is completely folded and tucked in, it takes on the appearance of a cocked hat, ever reminding us of the soldiers who served under General George Washington and the sailors and marines who served under Captain John Paul Jones who were followed by their comrades and shipmates in the Armed Forces of the United States, preserving for us the rights, privileges, and freedoms we enjoy today.

Number eleven [11] was offensive to “someone” who heard the words during the funeral! They filed a complaint and it went all the way to the DoD. Now these beautiful words can no longer be said at the “127” national cemeteries!

Both the military and the DoD say they were never approved by the DoD and Congress. The Air Force has now written a new script to be used. Apparently the land of the free only respects and protects free speech, belief in God, and all our other sacred rights guaranteed in The Constitution for the non believer, those who would take away all our rights, and care little for the Constitution except for how they can use it to negate all the rights of the majority of Americans.

Is this not censorship? Is it not a violation of my right to free speech and freedom of religion and the same rights of all Christians because we can’t publicly say God? The Courts and now the Federal Government are telling us, a nation governed by the people, based on religious freedom for “all,” not just the minorities, we can’t say the word God!!! Well, I am offended that in Detroit everyday, five times a day, Muslims are called to prayer vocally by that little guy at the top of that tower to pray to Allah as they face Mecca!

The rest of the nation may be letting this go unchallenged but the “American Legion and some other veteran groups say they “will not obey” the ban! Hot damn. Some Americans with guts! Does anyone else out there support them. If so, then speak up now loud and clear. Write your elected officials. Call them. Tell them all, ” No more! We will no longer tolerate the desecration and dishonoring of our fallen warriors!! Give me back “my” God!

~ by devildog6771 on October 28, 2007.

11 Responses to “Someone stole God and I can’t find him!!”

  1. As someone born in the South, I know exactly what you are saying.

  2. paul – well put.

  3. I need to be a bit careful here. What devildog and Katana both seem to be saying is that what is said at the funeral should be up to the family. I could not agree more! I consider refusing to allow references to God at the funeral (or baptism, wedding, etc.) of an individual to be a rather clear violation of the first amendment. But (oh no, here I go) also tell congress (and the states) to stop passing laws that make me behave as their religion wants me to. The religious right may be Christians, but they are as oppressive to me as any other religious group (yes, even Muslims.)

    Thanks for the post, I will write to congress about this, as it is a violation of personal choice that has no real impact on anyone but the family and friends of the deceased. From that standpoint, it is clearly a violation of first amendment rights.

    OBTW, I just caught devildog’s last comment. Very concise and insightful statement about any group that wants to control how you think. This is why I no longer subscribe to any organized religion. (Anti religion is it’s own religion with it’s own rules and agenda.)

  4. I’m sick of it too.They use it to hide behind as they spread their messages of hate and intolerance.

  5. Things are starting to get a little bit to PC these days, what in the world is happening? Things are getting taken out but yet replaced because “someone” found it offensive. I still believe in majority and it generally rules, so yes, I agree. The ceremony you mentioned I am not familiar with being Canadian, but totally agree it should remain intact and as is. something should never be changed. Pretty soon they will want to change Veterans Day to some other day because it conflicts with someones beliefs. Has to stop! And I will continue to say Merry Christmas, even though that has now been deemed un-PC. My rant is over.

  6. Hey, rant on. I like it. It makes me furious!

  7. Yeah, I agree with you all the way. I just had to rant.
    Its just odd to me. I dont hear about God in my classroom (unless it’s relevant) or anywhere outside of Church. I’m a pretty happy camper as far as atheists go. I just don’t get why some people cant pull their heads out and GET OVER IT.

    again, excuse my rant. Just my hot button.

  8. Katana, that’s my point exactly. It is pretty bad when a family can’t bury their loved one’s without someone complaining on over the ceremony. If this is violation of free speech and our right to worship or not, I don’t know what is??!!

  9. Not gonna lie, I don’t really want any mention of god at my funeral… but that’s cos i’m one of those whacko non-believers. But then again, i really couldnt care what other people (and their families) want in their funerals since it’s their funeral and they wanna be remember a certain way.

    Hell, If I want my funeral to have strippers dancing on my grave, and booze flowing by the barrel with techno music, black lights and lazer no one in their right mind can tell me that I can’t because it’s my funeral and my grave.

    Personal choice, baby.

  10. Renato, there is truth in what you say. I just hope more people wake up and have your perseverance! To have someone who has undergone what you and your people offer such a positive comment and wise words means a lot. I admire the courage of your people.

  11. Hi,

    I’m from the Philippines and I’m a Christian. I was saddened by what you wrote but at the same time it made me resolute to continue fighting a good fight for the promise that was given to us.

    I’d just like to encourage you and say that they may be winning the battle but we’ve already won the war.

    God bless.

    Renato

Leave a Reply

 
