Voting rights for D.C. and Utah


Harry Reid is trying to get a bill passed that will give voting rights to D.C. and add a fourth House member fore Utah according to the Salt Lake Tribune. It appears from the article that if the bill passes, Utah will have possibly an additional Republican member in the House and D.C. would add a Democratic seat.

From Wikipedia:

“the 1787 Constitutional Convention to empower Congress in Article I, Section 8 of the new United States Constitution

To exercise exclusive Legislation in all Cases whatsoever, over such District (not exceeding ten miles square) as may, by Cession of particular States, and the acceptance of Congress, become the Seat of the Government of the United States.

A new federal district was to be established, governed by Congress which was not part of any state”

There was a reason that the Capitol was put in neutral territory, so to speak. This assured that there was hopefully no undue influence by any particular state. After all the Capitol was the seat of the Federal Government.

I admit that if I lived in D.C., I would feel left out of things because I couldn’t vote. However, I also recognize that as the nation’s Capitol, it is important that D.C. remain true to its original intent, an independent seat for our national government.

I lived in the D.C. area for 15 years. Corruption had riddled its political processes for as long as I can remember. Allowing D.C. to have votes in in our National election, in my opinion, threatens our political process. D.C. has always been a Democratic stronghold. That is a matter of record. Allowing D.C. to have voting rights in Presidential elections is especially dangerous now that the “Progressive Movement” has infiltrated the Democratic Party.

National Election voting rights gives D.C. the potential for Progressives or any other group set on destroying our nation and our Constitution control and access to the heart of our government. It gives the Progressives a tie breaker politically. It has the potential to set up a power vacuum we don’t need.

As for Utah, well, that is based on population if my memory serves me correctly. Either Utah meets the requirement or it doesn’t. Approval for a fourth member means both parties have one more chance to elect a representative. Give it a rest Harry. You guys already changed voting districts in California to give you assurance of Democratic victories in several districts. Isn’t it about time you had to work for votes instead of stealing them?

~ by devildog6771 on September 13, 2007.

4 Responses to “Voting rights for D.C. and Utah”

  1. cool!

  2. If you want to see how the little one is doing go to http://airbornevet.livejournal.com

    🙂

  3. AirborneVet!! Oh I am so glad you stopped by. I know what you mean about being busy. It seems that all my time goes into research for my posts. I miss the daily cruisin’ of the blogs of my friends. Have a really great vacation. By the way, how is “little AirborneVet” doing? Thank you for stopping by. And, yes, the “Wall” desecration was very painful for me too. It is all very sad, indeed!

  4. Just stopping by to say hello. It’s been a while. I’ve been busy. Leaving for vacation next week and gald of it.
    I was very upset to read about the defacing of the Vietnam Memorial. Is there nothing sacred anymore?

Leave a Reply

 
