What do you do when your boss fires you for taking time to see your husband off as he deploys for battle? One wife fights back!


This is a story I think all milbloggers ought to read. It is about one woman’s courage in the face of her husband’s deployment despite some very overwhelming odds. Last November, I wrote a post, Suzette Boler fired in October after seeing her husband off to war!!:

OK, I know someone is going to say this is old news. But I just read about this today. Suzette Boler of CALEDONIA, Michigan, took a week off from her part time job to see her husband off. She was due back to work on a Monday but was so drained by everything, she didn’t go in that Monday. Of course she wasn’t told if she didn’t come in she would be fired. What a pi$$ poor excuse for an employer. If I were her I wouldn’t want to go back. But, I would sue the employer. So, here’s my question, does anyone know what subsequently happened to Mrs. Boler?

Suzette Boler came across my post a couple weeks ago and sent me and other supporters an email to thank us all for our support. She also gave me an update on her job status, her husband, and what all she has been doing since her firing two years ago! I want to share her email with everyone. It is really awesome and inspiring:

“I saw on your website, where you asked if anyone knew what had happened to me?
It has been almost 2 years since I was fired from my job for being with my husband when he left for Iraq. My husband is home now and has received a purple heart for being wounded by an IED. He received injuries to his head and is unable to work or drive now. I spent the year he was gone trying to get a bill passed in Michigan to protect the jobs of people seeing their loved ones off to war. Unfortunately it has not passed here, but it was picked up by other states. Gov. Mitch Daniels in Indiana just signed a bill in June protecting family members jobs during deployments. It is now mandatory that employers in Indiana give their employees a certain amount of time off without fear of termination. I have not given up the fight for it to pass here also. Since my story was so public it has been very hard to find employment, so I spend my days taking care of my husband and our 4 year old now. We are active in the Patriot Guard, and anything that has to do with supporting our military and their families. Even though my employer felt it necessary to trash my reputation when it hit the fan to make himself look good . I feel sorry for him and his customers now more then anything, he is a very dishonest man that steps on people to get what he wants. I am very proud of my husband and the kind of man he is. He is honorable, kind, giving and loves his country. He spent 18 months protecting the rights of the people in this country including Mr. Bledsoe and Mr. Galloway at Benefit Management. He was wounded and will spend the rest of his life living with those injuries, so men like Mr. Bledsoe and Mr. Galloway can run their business and be free to do and say what they want.
If I sound bitter it is only because I hate that these kind of people receive their freedoms off the backs of men and women like my husband.
Please continue to support our military, show them in every way possible that they are appreciated no matter what side of the fence you are on in regards to this war. And also remember the families of our soldiers that also pay a price when soldiers are called to war. I also want to thank all of those who supported me when I was fired.

Sincerely
Suzette Boler
Caledonia, MI”

Mrs. Boler is one gutsy lady! I’d say her husband is one very lucky soldier. I would also think that after two years of “no decent job,” Mrs. Boler and her husband could use some help. With him recovering from his injuries, her caring for him and their child, they still find time to help other military families in need. I would love to be able to think of some really appropriate way to help them, but, I am at a loss.

The only way I can think of besides financial help would be for the Eagles and other groups to get up a petition, and help her get the signatures she needs to force the Michigan Legislature off its tush to pass this law she has worked on for two years now. We ought to all be able to help her by writing letters and emails to Congressmen and women.

How about it folks? Can we do this? Or, should we contact her first and see if she could use our help? I am forwarding a copy of my email to Blackfive, Mudville Gazette, and the Gathering of Eagles. I am also forwarding a copy and a note to my Representative, Randy Forbes. This is a law that ought to apply to all states.

~ by devildog6771 on August 18, 2007.

5 Responses to “What do you do when your boss fires you for taking time to see your husband off as he deploys for battle? One wife fights back!”

  1. You’re very welcome.

  2. Devil Dog,

    Thanks for the link 🙂 Really like your site, too.

  3. Politics of a Patriot thank you for your comments. I totally agree with you. I like your site by the way so I hope you don’t mind I liked to it!

    mullah cimoc, you always post the same old tired rhetoric with no supporting data. Have you forgotten or are you just unaware of the millions murdered after we left and stopped giving aide. Got any justification for that? As for our customs here, well all I can say is I don’t see any people moving to your country or any other Muslim extremist ruin country, Muslim or otherwise. Get a clue guy.

  4. mullah cimoc say ameriki need for remember when usa finally leaving the vietnam.

    how long take for peace coming after usa kick out of saigon? A: three day then the peace of 36 yr and not have the problem.

    usa govt make all same lie during vietnam war. need stay and kill more gook until all stable.

    usa now punish for the cruel and the torutre and also for the be obedient slave of israeli and losing the soul.

    now ameriki him woman all the slut take the LBT (low back tattoo) and sex with evry man even gang member. him so ashame now. and the wife become the lesbian and kick man from the house him owning. this wicked and for punuish amneriki man, not have full size gonad and let usa govt the war crime.

    every ameriki son him the gay homosexual. ameriki not have the happy family or the grandchild so beautiful. ameriki woman just have the dog. also ameriki killing 52 million baby with the abortion kill now need aztec and maya for repopulate land. soon exteinction ameriki because not breed him woman.

  5. This is truly inspiring. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

Leave a Reply

 
