A Special Tribute to Our Troops


A while back I wrote a post called I got a Thinking Blogger Award. In that post I nominated “5” bloggers for the same award. One was Rogue Gunner, a Falklands War Veteran.
Rogue Gunner posted a comment to that post. In his comments, R.G. also included a poem he wrote as a “tribute” to our troops in the present conflict. It is very beautiful. I am sharing his poem here. If you get a chance, check out his great blog. He gives a great accounting of the Falklands War and living with P.T.S.D..
Here’s his poem:

Sleep safe in your beds
I’ll protect you abroad
The colors are flying
I’m ready my Lord
Just give me my gun
And a large shot of rum
I’ll lay baked white and dry
In the hot Basra Sun.

God Bless Them all.
rogue gunner said this on August 8th, 2007

~ by devildog6771 on August 8, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
