Cami Dog is very ill!


UPDATE #3:Though not out of the woods yet, Cami took her first “taste” of food today! Things may be at the turning point for her! Thank God!

UPDATE #2:
Cami seems to be improving though it is still going to be up and down for a while. When I transported her to the primary Vet, she had a fit when she saw me. I just talked to the Doctor and she said that was really a good sign. I am keeping the prayers going. Thank you all for your prayers.

Update: Cami is not improving. She is holding her own. I am now faced with a terrible decision. The doctors haven’t said so yet; but, I must be prepared to decide when she has had enough. I do not want her to suffer in my desire for her to be well.

I will have to decide when she has gone through enough. This virus is so bad, it can easily go either way. I love that little dog so much. How will I ever handle that moment if it comes?

I am sad to report that Cami dog is very ill. She has Parvo. She was struck suddenly last night and is now at the vet in a fight for her life. Cami is a great recon dog. I am saying my prayers for her that she makes it. Please say a prayer for her too if you don’t mind. I would be so grateful. And, I am sure that Cami will also be grateful. Us Marines got to stick together.

God Bless you Cami. I am praying so hard for you. Cami’s real name is Rascal. Her name is very appropriate. She has 50/50 chance of making it.

~ by devildog6771 on July 29, 2007.

8 Responses to “Cami Dog is very ill!”

  1. You are so right! I stopped going to the local shelter for that very reason. On three separate occasions the same thing happened tome.I was heart broken each time. As bad as distemper is, believe me Parvo is far worse.

    My pets are family. I would be at a total loss without them. My kids live at home but work full time and go to college. So for all practical purposes they are grown and gone as in seldom here. About the same time they started this, we lost my nephew in Kuwait. It has been a hard adjustment.

    My companions, my cats and dogs fill a great void. I do so love them!

    Thank you for your kind words. I am sorry for your loss.

  2. My white german shepherd got distemper from the pound we got him from. He had a seizure and i had to put him down… cried the entire day. I hope the best for you 😦 losing a pup is as hard as losing a family member.

  3. Thank you Debbie. The prayers help.

  4. Cyber hugs and healing thoughts going out for Cami dog. I’ve got her in my prayers today.

  5. I transported her from the emergency center this morning to my vet. The emergency center is closed today. When she saw me she went ape on me. She was so glad to see me. He was a little better this morning. But the doctor cautioned me about getting over confident of her recovery. However did tell me that he would not give up on her in the next few days. He also said she isn’t suffering, she’s just terribly sick. She got a little car sick, but settled down at the vet. I refuse to be anything but optimistic. After seeing her this morning, she’s really a fighter!

  6. Just as in humans, stress can slow down recovery from any illness, so if she misses you, that may not help. Of course, sometimes there’s not much you can do if you have to be out at work.

    Also, because they pick up on your own emotions and vibes, it’s important to stay upbeat when around her.

    You may find your vet is not that open to natural remedies such as this, although I don’t see why many don’t feel it’s worth trying.

    Best wishes.

  7. Thank you Mark. I’ll ask the Vet about that. I so hope she makes it. I just don’t want to make her needlessly suffer, though. I am so at a loss without my little friend. On the rare occasion I went out without her, the kids say she sits at the door the whole time I am gone. I ask the Vet if maybe this might be a factor in her getting better. She said that she was doing OK with that. I just keep saying my prayers!

  8. We’ve heard of many cases where dog owners and their vets gave up on dogs that had Parvo, only to find that they recovered once treated with natural products such as Parvaid and Vibactra Plus.

    The key is getting treatment started as soon as possible.

    Anyway, I wish both you and Cami well and hope she pulls through, one way or another.

Leave a Reply

 
