A POW/MIA Relative responds to one of my posts


I recently wrote a post, March 17, 2007 – A day I have long awaited!! [Plus Pictures] about a Gathering of Eagles event in D.C. to protect War Memorials from desecration by anti-war protesters. Today I got the following comment fr0m a POW/MIA Relative:

To those who fought for my rights and freedom of speech (and that includes the freedom to protest and act like an “asshole”): Then step back and get the heck out of my way while I EXERCISE that right !! After all that our family has been through over the past 41 years with the POW / MIA issue and the emptiness of having a loved one who never came home from Vietnam, I’ll protest as loudly as I damn well please. Thank you for fighting so that I (and other relatives like me) have the right to protest the government who left our relatives behind when they knew full well that men were still over there after the troops pulled out.
Tell me the truth. Do you really want to see that happen to another generation?? No?? Then (with all due respect for your pride as a Veteran)~ GET THE HELL OUT OF MY WAY SO THAT ANOTHER GENERATION DOESN’T HAVE TO SUFFER THE AGONY OF LOSS THAT OUR OWN FAMILY HAS HAD TO ENDURE.

A POW / MIA Relative said this on July 9th, 2007 at 3:39 am

I find responding to a comment from a MIA/POW Relative requires a degree of special respect! None of us can begin to understand the sense of loss and lack of closure experienced by the loss of a loved one in war when that loved one has not been returned home unless we too have experienced that same loss. Bearing that in mind, I feel compelled to make a response:

With all due respect to you and your family’s pain, I have also experienced the loss of war. Irregardless of how bad anyone feels about that loss, nothing gives you, me, or anyone else the damn right to desecrate the memorials to those who have given their life. So protest all you want; but, keep the hell away from the sacred memorials to those who also died.

As for your feelings about the government leaving your loved one behind, I am very sorry about that. I completely agree with your feelings. However, if you do some research, you will see that the people who are funding the present antiwar, pullout movement are the same ones who backed the one during Vietnam. They are as guilty of causing those men to be left behind as the Government. They created the political atmosphere that made it impossible to get back in the region.

I know this doesn’t take away your pain! But do you honestly want to see that same pain inflicted on another? A troop withdrawal now “will” be another Vietnam all over again! However, there is a major difference here.

Vietnam did not harbor terrorists. Nor did it try to assassinate one of our presidents. Its president did not offer a man who had declared and conducted a war against our country for over twenty years a safe haven to escape Afghanistan before we went in there after him. Vietnam’s leader did not declare that it intends to conquer the world in a 100 year plan and the US in a twenty year plan because, “we defeated the Russians. If we can defeat America, we can defeat anyone!”

Whether you or I or anyone else likes it or not, these people, these terrorists, are conducting worldwide war under the leadership of bin Laden. Just because they call no country home, doesn’t make them less of an enemy, it makes them more deadly.

They do not negotiate as negotiations are a sign of weakness. Their goal is clear, to reestablish a new Caliphate. Only, this one is to be a world wide one. Anyone who won’t convert will die. Those who convert will always be second class citizens! I think our kids deserve better.

I also think our troops deserve better than to again have us turn tail and run with our tails between our legs!

[edited to fix the blockquote]

~ by devildog6771 on July 9, 2007.

6 Responses to “A POW/MIA Relative responds to one of my posts”

  1. Thanks!

  2. No, but my daughter might. I’ll ask her.

  3. I saw an interview with one of the forensic people that identify the remains of those they bring home. It was fascinating – I wish i could remember his name as I really want to read the book. Maybe you know, DD?

  4. So true. If anyone has a right to protest, the families of our POWs and MIAs do. Sadly their cause has been hindered by both the extreme left using their pain and the government. Once we pulled out of Vietnam, it was years before the government could get back in. We ran the risk of starting an international incident.

    What hasn’t helped is the U.N. which made the mistake of allowing states [nations] to join who did not begin to uphold human rights or any degree individual rights. I may be wrong but I am pretty certain that non-Democratic nations are now in the majority in the U.N.. That is why resolutions are pretty much useless and events like Rwanda have been able to occur.

    None of the nations run by Dictators and Autocrats want to do anything to jeopardize their position and control at home.It is a very sad state of affairs.

    One wonderful bit of news is the current effort on Iwo Jima to find not only the last Marine present during the “Flag Raising;” but, the remaining soldiers still there. Can you imagine, they have lain there over 60 years!

  5. Wow Devil Dog! ITA- we show our true character when we respectfully protest. There is NEVER a need to act violently or disrepectfully. When you are serious and respectfull (and adding here knowledgefull) about your protest you will not be ignored or treated as a looney.

  6. I respect the pain your family has endured – The Vietnam War left so many of us with wounds. I have to say that I think you are selling our troops short. They volunteered for service, many of them after 9/11. They knew the risk, yet stepped up anyway. My daughter is one of them.
    And again, a reminder to all those who are demanding the right to “protest as loudly as I damn well please”.
    The Freedom you bring up is the “right of the people peaceably to assemble”.
    Key word here: Peaceably.
    Desecrating the sacred memorials of those who fought and died to uphold this right is NOT peaceably assembling.
    It’s a lack of respect.
    As DD said, it was the public turning on our troops that caused the ugly end of the Vietnam War and if we follow that path again, it will be even uglier in the present war. This is not the same kind of war, no matter how often Vietnam is compared to Iraq and Afghanistan. And it certainly is not the same kind of enemy.

    And no one on my watch will succeed in desecrating the memorials that honor those who stepped up and faced the bullet.

Leave a Reply

 
