“They Have Names”


I was the recipient of a truly amazing gift this week. As you all know, C.J., at A Soldier’s Perspective, has undertaken a project called They Have Names. In C.J.’s own words:

Who was this “U.S. soldier”?

I made it my goal in life to find out who he was and tell his story. He was not just “a U.S. soldier” to me. He was a brother. He was father. He was a son. And he had a name.

They Have Names is dedicated to giving proper respects to our fallen heroes. Our goal is to raise awareness about my fallen brothers and sisters. All too often, these Troops are relegated to mere numbers by the press. Their stories are unknown. Their lives are unknown. And their names are unknown. Their sacrifice is impersonal and taken for granted. To many Americans, they are faceless figures. They are not enigmas – They Have Names.

As part of his effort to honor all our fallen heroes and put faces to the names, each family interviewed receives a special coin onto which the name of their fallen hero is engraved. These are keepsakes for the family, but I can tell you from my own personal experience every memento is a treasure and reminder our loved ones are not forgotten.

C.J. just had a raffle to raise money to buy more medallions. A wonderful benefactor, Johnston45. She bought raffle tickets and asked C.J. to give me the flag if the tickets won. My flag is on its way to now. I am so grateful and humbled by her generosity. You can bet it will get a place of honor right beside the mementos of my nephew who died in Kuwait!

As this is Memorial Day weekend, a great way to honor the fallen would be to make a donation to C.J. for more Medallions. He has a very long way to go before this tribute to our fallen heroes is done. The raffle was about $100.00 dollars short! There are links to make donations on the They Have Names link at the top of the page.

Again, my heartfelt thanks to Johnston45!

~ by devildog6771 on May 26, 2007.

3 Responses to ““They Have Names””

  1. P.S. I can’t wait until my banner arrives. I am going to take it with me to the cemetery and show my nephew.

  2. Thank you Brat. I am still shocked and of course very grateful and honored. As for Johnston45, she is an angel, surely!

  3. devildog… just found this post and yes – johnston45 is an amazing lady. I am soooooooo glad you got the flag… Bless you.

Leave a Reply

 
