A Soldier’s Letter to Senator Reid


I received the following letter in an email from Gathering of Eagles, of which I am a member. This letter so clearly says everything I have been trying to say with regard to Senator Reid, the Democratic Congress, and those traitorous Republicans who publicly say the war is lost and refuse to support the President’s efforts. The soldier who wrote the letter says it all so very well I simply had to post it! Please read his letter.

Senator Reid:

When you say we’ve lost in Iraq, I don’t think you understand the effect of your words. The Iraqis I speak with are the good guys here, fighting to build a stable government. They hear what you say, but they don’t understand it. They don’t know about the political game, they don’t know about a Presidential veto, and they don’t know about party politics.

But they do know that if they help us, they are noticed by terrorists and extremists. They decide to help us if they think we can protect them from those terrorists. They tell us where caches of weapons are hidden. They call and report small groups of men who are strangers to the neighborhood, men that look the same to us, but are obvious to them as a foreign suicide cell.

To be brief, your words are killing us. Your statements make the Iraqis afraid to help us for fear we’ll leave them unprotected in the future. They don’t report a cache, and its weapons blow up my friends in a convoy. They don’t report a foreign fighter, and that fighter sends a mortar onto my base. Your statements are noticed, and they have an effect.

Finally, you are mistaken when you say we are losing. We are winning, I see it every day. However, we will win with fewer casualties if you help us. Will you?

Respectfully,

LT Jason Nichols, USN
MNF-I, Baghdad

~ by devildog6771 on April 21, 2007.

12 Responses to “A Soldier’s Letter to Senator Reid”

  1. Get a life “Iggy!” Your type always throws around a bunch of statements but never supports them. Cheney had nothing to do with Plume’s “out!” “George” didn’t allow Bernie Sanders to strip military spending to a bare minimum. Bill Clinton did that. Had Bill kept his pants zipped, he might have stopped all of this before it got so world wide. He was also too busy selling the Panama Canal entry ports to China and trying to sell one of our West coast closed bases until he got caught. Come back when you really have something to say you can back up instead of name calling and using bad language!

  2. And another thing, Vice-Prick Cheney is the traitor. Who the fuck in their right mind would think it’s O.K. to out a CIA Agent?

  3. Sen. Reid isn’t the one that’s insulting soldiers, it’s your beloved asshole-in-chief! You can justify going to war all you want(I myself, think it was bullshit), but don’t blame Sen. Reid for troops dying. George should have made sure the soldiers had everything they needed before sending them there. He more concerned with protecting the oil than protecting the troops!!

  4. Yes we do! I am sick of them!

  5. Senator Reid, is in my opinion a traitor to his country. We need to get the traitor(s) that’s in DC out of OFFICE NOW!!!!!

  6. I’m with you Chief.

  7. Senator Reid, in my opinion is a traitor to his country. In my opinion, he is misinformed at best or turning his back on our country in exchange for temporary personal gain. I hope he goes the way that Dashel went. Voted out: the American way.

  8. Yankeemom thank you. I agree with you 100%. I sent a copy to my Representative. Desktopjunk, what a very nice thing to say. Thank you.

  9. Thanks, always good posts on your blog!

  10. That is a great letter! Michele Malkin has several letters from her military readers posted on her blog.
    I’m with you Pamela! I’m thinking of printing out all the letters like Lt Nichols and sending them to every member of the House and Senate and also the President. it would be worth the postage.
    Just can’t stay quiet at all!

  11. Amen to that!

  12. DD, you were right, that is quite a letter. Not only is it clear, but heart-wrenching to read. This LT. should NEVER have to feel this way but Reid’s words cut below the belt. If I had it my way, every American would write to Congress demanding the resignation of Reid and we would get it, NOW!! He’s a foolish traitor!!

Leave a Reply

 
