I got a “Thinking Blogger Award!”


It all originated with ilker yoldas at The Thinking Blog, who picked 5 blogs that made him think rather than just answer a simple meme about what his favorite color is. Anyway, I’m to pick 5 blogs that make me think.

So here goes:1]Rogue Gunner. “Rogue Gunner” is a Falklands War Veteran. He has PTSD and he writes beautiful and moving poetry and commentaries. He writes about the war now and he writes about his own war experiences.

2] Rose Covered Glasses. A Vietnam Vet and his colleagues write a very unique blog. I don’t always agree, but they frequently have a good laugh and will offer you much to think about! They are big on satire which I am often slow to catch, lol!

3] Crotchety Old Bastard by cobdanny. He has a real down to earth approach to his words. I like reading his blog. He will definitely stir your mental juices!

4] Sparks from the Anvil by WordSmith from Nantucket. Another great writer. He moves my emotions when I read his blog. I often find he helps me out of my writer rut!

5] Tanker Brothers has Brat, Tracey, A_C, all really good bloggers. They each have their own style. What can I say about these guys. They support our troops, They write some really thought provoking posts. They also touch on some spiritual needs.

You guys have all been tagged as blogs that make me think. Yeah, believe it or not I do have a thinking cap I put on from time to time. Should you choose to participate, please make sure you pass this list of rules to the blogs you are tagging. I thought it would be appropriate to include them with the meme.

The participation rules are simple:

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think,

2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme,

3. Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote.

I don’t usually go in for mimes. But, I think this one has merit. I like the idea of being able to make people think. I also enjoy reading blogs that make me think. This may be the only award I ever get; but, it is an award I feel proud to get! Hope you feel the same and decide to each pick your five choices.

~ by devildog6771 on April 13, 2007.

7 Responses to “I got a “Thinking Blogger Award!””

  1. Rogue gunner, thank you.

  2. I dont mind at all Devil Dog.

  3. […] Special Tribute to Our Troops A while back I wrote a post called I got a Thinking Blogger Award. In that post I nominated “5″ bloggers for the same award. One was Rogue Gunner, a […]

  4. Thank you R.G. However, the honor is mine. I hope you don’t mind if I share your poem. It is very beautiful.

  5. I am honoured by your comments. Some of these young men who are dying in Iraq & Afghanistan were not even borne when I was fighting in the South Atlantic. When I turn the TV on and hear about another death it affects me deeply like a family member has passed away. I wrote this in for their sacrifice

    Sleep safe in your beds
    Il protect you abroad
    The colours are flying
    I’m ready my Lord
    Just give me my gun
    And a large shot of rum
    Il lay baked white and dry
    In the hot Basra Sun.

    God Bless Them all.

  6. Thank you for your very kind words Ken. Frankly, I agree with you about naming only “5” blogs. I had a horrible time selecting blogs. There truly are some very good ones out there. I also don’t see why anyone must limit themselves to “5” if they want to name more. After all, to me, that’s what this award is all about, letting people know about the many blogs that exist. Your blog is so clever, I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  7. Rose Covered Glasses is flattered to receive your “Thinking Blogger Award”. We consider your site one of the best among the many imaginitive and communicative locations we visit and have had the privelege of hearing from.

    We cannot, however, limit our selections to only five in terms of makeing an award ourselves. I think the number would be more like 60. That is how lucky we have been in terms of hearing from sincere,talented perople.

Leave a Reply

 
