If you haven’t had the flu, you don’t know what you’re missing!


I have been off line since Friday or maybe Saturday. I have the “FLU!” It is a nasty flu. I don’t know when I ever got this sick. I found out yesterday was Tuesday. Don’t know where Monday went. I told my daughter if I ever get this sick again to shoot me in my sleep. She was not amused.

If you have already had this flu, I am sorry to remind you of how terrible you felt. To those of you who haven’t, get a box of salt free crackers, a jar of apple sauce, and a 3 litre bottle of water. Keep them by you bed. Sip often but only a little at s time. As soon as you are able, try to eat one or two crackers at a time.

Clear a path to you bathroom. But I would suggest you make you have some spare clean sleeping or depends because the functioning of “#1” will be completely out of you hands at least the first three days. Oh, yeah, just because you think you’re better, have a person handy for when you faint and fall on your butt so you don’t hurt yourself.

You are going to hurt in places you didn’t know could hurt. And the headache is the headache from hell. No lights, I kid you not, it’s like a migraine! This is day five, and though better, I can only eat mashed potatoes, buttered carrots and broccoli [don’t recommend this], I am sore like I got beat, still have that darn headache of and on, and the dizziness.

I probably won’t post anything until this is gone. On a single happy note, those two nasty things we don’t like to talk about that usually hit at times like this have thus far been absent. Go figure! I won’t press my luck, it’s still too early to tell if I escaped that terrible twosome. All I can say is thank God for that blessing or I might have drowned my self in the toilet bowl!

~ by devildog6771 on April 4, 2007.

4 Responses to “If you haven’t had the flu, you don’t know what you’re missing!”

  1. Lenny grant, you got it right on. It is awful. No warning what so ever.

  2. Thanks Yankeemom! I am finally starting to feel a bit better. I don’t have much energy. This thing has settled in my head and chest. I have been up today quite a bit off and on. I did make a crock pot full of chicken soup last night that cooked over night. Have finally gotten so I can eat something fairly decent. I just eat less. So I am on my way past the hump. Finally!

  3. Sorry to hear that you have this nastiness! Get all better real soon ~ sending you virtual chicken soup. (It can’t hurt!)

  4. Wow! My wife and I are just now getting over the FLU. Not even a runny nose all winter and then all of a sudden…POW! We were fortunate not to have the trots or anything like that. Normal bathroom funtctions. The body aches were just ridiculus.
    I had pain in parts of my body that have never seen pain.

Leave a Reply

 
