Six troops die in Baghdad! Why don’t we pull out now before we lose more troops? Maybe the Dems are right!


As the American elections loom closer, more and more Democrats and critics of the President’s actions in Iraq have been questioned. I must admit, at times their arguments sound tempting….like hell they do!

You want to know why we shouldn’t quit in Iraq? I’ll tell you why. But I won’t use my words. I will use a direct quote of an Iraqi who at times risks his life along with many others to voice their thoughts on the War on Iraq on their blogs. Anyone who can read these words  and not want to hug this man and others like him out of fellowship of sharing the will to be free is not “American!” Anyone who can read his words and not feel the same pride I or other American feel every time we see our flag or sing the National Anthem is not an American!  Anyone who can read his words and not remember our own struggles to be free is not an American. Read on:

 Back from Egypt.

I’m back in Baghdad now after I spent a week in Cairo attending a seminar for bloggers and civil society activists that was sponsored by the Cato institute, American Islamic Congress and HamsaWeb.

It was really an interesting and informative experience to meet and talk to people like Dr. Palmer, Johan, Zainab and Jess and the training designed and supervised by Dr. Shafeeq (head of the American University in Kuwait) were particularly excellent in exploring the potential skills of the participants.

In fact what was even more fun was meeting that little crowd of active middle eastern young men and women as we shared similar goals and discussed similar concerns and tried to work out means of interaction to benefit from the wide variety of skills and experiences we built amid the rough situations in the region to be able to face the threats represented by the totalitarian regimes and extremism which both refuse to hear anything that opposes their backward vision which they seek to impose over the peoples.

This kind of confrontation isn’t easy at all and I applaud the courage and determination of those young people as they work hard in their communities to gain their rights and fight for freedom and democracy in an environment that can only be called hostile to anything new or different.

My participation in this meeting renewed my hope and strengthened my feeling that we’re not fighting this battle alone. The beautiful thing about the meeting is that everyone is looking forward to see the Iraq experiment unfold to something good that will reflect positively on all those who have accepted the Middle East to be their home.

On the other hand the destructive effect of the media-that abbreviated Iraq to a car bomb leaving away or ignoring the other good side of the story which is the birth of a democracy-was also clear. I was trying hard to clarify the blurred image asking the others not to judge something huge like the change in Iraq through events in a relatively very short time compared to the history of nations.
I agree that the positive sides I’m referring to may not be visible amid the smoke of war but I could clearly feel them as I traveled to another country like Egypt and listened to experiments from other countries in the Middle East and north Africa.

It may sound a bit odd but that’s really what I felt in Egypt that I don’t feel in my war-torn city; for the first time in 3 years I felt the restrains of government…I told one of my colleagues I feel safe in Baghdad despite the dangers, I may feel afraid of terrorists or random violence but I never fear the government and that’s not only how I feel, Iraqis are not afraid of expressing their differences with the authority because we in Iraq have more or les became part of that authority the day we elected our representatives while terrorists and militias are nothing more than temporary phenomenon that unlike constitution and elections have no solid foundations.

Of course our democratic foundations need a lot of work to meet our aspirations but we are walking this road and none of us is willing to go back and maybe the three thousands that were murdered last month tell that Iraqis are ready to pay the price and fight to preserve and improve our achievements. The magnitude of the change explains the confusion in some of our steps but we have not given up and we’re not ready to surrender, not yet.
Back in Cairo I was sitting in the hotel’s garden reading a book when I was surprised by a man, who reminded me of one of Saddam’s security guys, interrupting my quiet afternoon reading and telling me without any introductions “Don’t believe them!”.
“Who are they?” I asked “those people” he said pointing at the book in my hand and added “we have a very good system that is represented by the government and Islam. Maybe we need some minor improvements but those people want to blow up our culture, history and beliefs”.

I could feel that these remarks would be followed by an informal interrogation with questions about my colleagues so I quickly ended the conversation and avoided going into details. However this came as a flashback from the dreadful era of dictatorship that I’ve forgotten over the past three years.I could feel eyes following me and walls recording every word I say that for the first time in years I feel I need to watch my mouth in front a simple cleaning worker in the hotel who was cleaning up the conference hall after one of the sessions. He said “if you want to change know that we’re on your side” it may sound like a friendly gesture but I got scared and my immediate response was “No, no! this is not about any change!”I wouldn’t worry about talking about a change when I’m in Iraq; pluralism is a fact here and every party is seeking a change of one sort or another but I was afraid to talk about a change in a place where only one opinion rules and dominates everything.

At that moment I felt the difference and wished I could immediately go back to Baghdad. I know the balance is a tough one but those who seek temporary safety will never get safety.I believe this battle is worth the trouble and sacrifice and perhaps this time I have additional reasons that motivate me to carry on; it’s the people who are looking forward to seeing us succeed and our success here makes the road shorter and less costly to walk for the rest of the region.Iraq the Model 

If you think Democracy has not spread its roots in Iraq then you are wrong. If you think the President’s plan has failed, then you are wrong. If you think we need to pull out of Iraq, then you are wrong!! Do people want to be free, you damn right they do! If ever a testimony of the rightness of what we are doing in Iraq exists, this man’s blog posting says it all.

The pride I feel at what ouir troops have done in Iraq is overwhelming. The pride I feel in America for finally doing what no other nation would do in the Middle East is overwhelming. No greater tribute to our fallen troops could possibly mean more than the words spoken here by this one voice in Iraq.

To all our troops, God bless you and thank you for a job well done!! 

~ by devildog6771 on August 28, 2006.

10 Responses to “Six troops die in Baghdad! Why don’t we pull out now before we lose more troops? Maybe the Dems are right!”

  1. […] AussieAtLarge was responding to a post I did recently where I expressed my views about whether or not we should leave Iraq as the Democratic leadership keeps trying to get us to do. […]

  2. To leave or not to leave? …. that is the question.

    i dont understand the dems decision to push for leaving iraq before its time, it seems to me to be a slap in the face of every soldier who has fought in iraq, every soldier who has lost friends, every family that has lost a loved one.

    do the dems value your soldiers lives so little to undo all the hard work the coalition forces have achieved to date.

    to leave now will be to give the terrorists a safe haven. true, american soldiers will stop dying in iraq, but they will start dying again on american soil when the terrorist threat has become so large they are able to launch extensive and sustained attacks against the USA home soil.

    My country has been lucky to date out of deployments to fiji, solomon islands, timor, Afganistan and iraq we have lost 5 soldiers with another 50 wounded. as the conflict continues we understand that we will inevitably loose more soldiers but thats war i guess.

    we have always considered ourselves friends of the USA during the good times and now we need to show you were still good friends to the USA during bad times.

    stay the course your not alone

    WE WILL PREVAIL 🙂

  3. Elmo, at times, I too think that might be the only way to get rid of these fanatics that just keep growing in number and doing more and more horrific crimes. But there is a big difference. If we nuke them then they win. They have pushed us to be as evil as they are. So, I refuse to lower myself to their depraved level of indifference to human life as surely many millions of innocents would die too!

  4. sorry, i meant his trial, not his trail.

  5. You’re right. If we leave, the terrorists win, and the Iraqis will be taken over. Unless of course, we completely pull out, and then nuke the entire Middle East. Think of it, no more war in Iraq, no more Israel-Lebanon/Hezbollah war, no more Iranian nuclear threat, no more Saddam Hussein trail dragging on, no more Osama bin Laden hiding out there.

  6. Thanks Yankeemom. You are so right.

  7. These, of course, are the voices we so rarely hear on the MSM.
    Great post, DD!

  8. FlagGazer, thank you for your kind words. I am very sorry for your loss. I am glad this post was comforting to you. I too lost someone, in Kiuwait. I was very touched by this post too.

    What really stood out was how he was made to feel in Egypt. I think that alone and his feeling of pride and safety in Baghdad and lack of fear of the government is the gresatest achievement our troops have accomplished. I mean, just think about it. That’s awesome.

    Indigo, I didn’t know that. I surely share your thoughts. I don’t understand their line of thinking. To me, an occupier does not teach people how to be self ruled after removing a criminal dictator. They don’t free people. They conquer and take over.

  9. Mohammad and Omar at Iraq the Model are phenominal men. They have found a courage in living everyday in wartorn Baghdad they didn’t know they had until shortly after the U.S. invasion. I often have my doubts whether Iraq in total will become fully democratic, but I do know that a very large portion will.

    The only reason I use in favor of leaving is that every Iraqi administration since the Provisional Government has stated that it’s perfectly acceptable for ordinary Iraqi Muslims to shoot and kill American Soldiers. It is their religious duty, the officials say. Every citizen has the obligation to resist the invaders with deadly force, the Iraqi Presidents remind. Under these circumstances, I don’t feel we should stay if all our soldiers are there to simply be targets so some Muslim can get his free ticket to paradise.

  10. WOW! What a powerful piece. It is especially meaningful to me today.

    I just returned from the memorial service for LCpl Randy Newman, who lost his life in Iraq on August 20.

    A high school friend, now a Marine Cpl, paid tribute to him. He told us all about the good being done in Iraq and that they were NOT going to leave until their job was done. He received a long round of applause from the several thousand in attendance. He expressed his pride in the gifts of freedom that have been given to the Iraqi people.

    It does my heart good to read this piece from an Iraqi.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
