Some interesting Statistics!


I was watching an episode of The District tonight. The show was about a Police Officer killed in the line of duty. At the end of the show statistics were shown about the rate of Police Officers killed in this country. At the time this particular episode was shown, there were 850,000 Law Enforcement Officers
in this country. Every 35 minutes an Officer was killed. This calculates out to 41.142 Officers killed per day, 288 per week, 1224 per month, and 15,015.142 per year.

Now before I proceed I need to clarify something. I have only the highest regard for our Troops. I value their safety and mourn every time I hear another Soldier has died. I myself lost someone I dearly loved in this war. So please understand when I continue that it is not my intention to in any way minimize the loss of our Soldiers lives. I also have a brother in Law Enforcement. The Sailor I lost in the war was an activated Law Enforcement Officer.

According to CNN War Tracker for OIF, 2,175 American Soldiers have been killed in Iraq from March 2003 to December 29, 2005. When you compare the number of Troops killed in Iraq against the number of Law Enforcement Officers killed in America for one year, the total Soldier’s killed in a year is 7% of the number of Law Enforcement Officers killed in a year. We are at war with the terrorists in Iraq.

With whom are we at war in America? Should we pull out all our Police Officers? But wait, this is their home. I am just so confused. This can’t be right. Do we need a new plan?

~ by devildog6771 on December 29, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
