Alpha Company of the 1st Battalion of the 184th Infantry Regiment.could use our support right now!


RDC over at “Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum” wrote an article called “HOW DO WE START OVER.” The permalink is:

http://currierd.typepad.com/
centurion/2005/07/
how_do_we_start.html”

In the article he wrote an apology for a comment he made in a previous article. He also discussed his feelings and those of his men about a situation that has recently been brought to the public’s attention by the media. I have linked to the media story.

I made some comments there about different aspects of what RDC wrote. Some of my comments were directed to RDC. But one, in particular, was directed to the Bn CSM, and actually, indirectly to the men and women of “Alpha Company of the 1st Battalion of the 184th Infantry Regiment.”

I felt so strongly about a remark by the Bn CSM in the article, that I felt I wanted to print that response here for others to see so that they too might offer support to the men and women of Alpha Company of the 1st Battalion of the 184th Infantry Regiment in this time of crisis.

The Bn CSM asked RDC, “How do we start Over?” In response I wrote, “You tell him a Marine Vet said to get the whole Bn together. Tell him to tell them he will not discuss the on going investigation in the unit, nor will anyone else except with the proper authorities.

Then you tell him to tell his men to do what the Marines do in these words or similar:

“Hold your heads high, remember all you have learned in this conflict, all you have accomplished as a unit in this conflict. Any deficiencies in training and experience you all had before you came here have been surpassed and your efforts exemplary.

I am proud of you all and your ability to work as a team. We will not accept defeat or give up. We will not let our honor as a unit flag. We will not hold our heads down in shame but lift them up in pride. The pride I have in you and the pride you should have in yourselves and what you have accomplished cannot be taken away by anyone unless we let them. You have answered the call of your country with HONOR, PRIDE, and DIGNITY! I am honored to be your CSM.

Now lift up those heads, and grab your ass by the seat of the pants, and let’s finish what we came here to do! We have a job to finish!”

If you prefer you can show him my comment as it is directed to him since as far as I know he doesn’t have a blog. But if he did, this would be my comment to him. And, I have one more thing to say.

After the 9/11 attacks when our men started being deployed, I was afraid for my country because I had first hand knowledge that many of our reserve and guard units were sorely lacking in training and other material needs. Bn CSM, Sir, I am no longer afraid! The accomplishments of all of you speaks for itself. And as a Marine Vet I will give you a salute that is not given lightly, SEMPER FI!!

I hope you will consider showing my comments to your Bn CSM. They are not meant to be arrogant, but rather from the heart!!

I am sure there are many other Americans and Veterans who feel the same way. Like me they are also tired of the slanted MSM news coverage of the efforts of our troops in Iraq and Afghanistan. They are also tired of the way the MSM is slowly trying to eat away at the American spirit and aide our enemy in the task of “breaking the American spirit” and chipping away at the American support of this Administration’s efforts to safe guard our country.

Yesterday I was amazed to hear a discussion on CNN about the MSM and the fact that the MSM was suffering from “Iraq Fatigue.” Like I really care about how difficult media coverage of the “War on Terror” and the coverage of “Iraq” in particular has on the MSM!

I suspect if the MSM starts printing more of the real story, it won’t become so fatigued by the slanted garbage it fabricates on a daily basis. I can just see it now. The MSM, right in the middle of World War II telling the American public that they were suffering from “World War II” fatigue! The thought of such an occurrence makes me laugh so hard I only wonder if I can make it to the “potty” before I have an accident.

Michael Yon must be holding his sides in agony as he tries to hold back his laughter at this ridiculous comment by the MSM safe at home, State side!

Anyway, if any of you dwindling supporters [MSM’s comment, not mine] of our troops and the war on terror can find the strength through all the fatigue this whole war effort must be is having on you want to show some support and encouragement to the men and women of Alpha Company of the 1st Battalion of the 184th Infantry Regiment, please go to RDC’s blog at the above permalink.

~ by devildog6771 on July 31, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
