My reply to anonymous


Dear anonymous,

I too am a single parent. I have been since my kids were 2 and 4. I know exactly how you feel. I feel the same fears. Then I look at my sister and see her grief. It makes me feel so guilty for my fears. Even though I know this is all normal, it doesn’t make me feel less guilty or fearful. But , I know whether or not my kids join on their own or they are drafted I will do as parents before me have done.

I will accept the situation. I will give them all my love and support. I will discuss my fears with them and encourage them to do the same with me. Then I will pray to God as I have been doing for all our young men and women that He will bring them home to me safely. I will pray to Him that He will give me the strength I need to be supportive in the right way.

But through it all I will still remain afraid! But maybe that fear is part of what keeps us humane. Or helps us become better people if we channel it properly. I don’t know. I do know I will not give in to my fears.

I am so glad to see your response. It lets me know I am not alone. Handling this all alone is as bad as the fear. Thank you for your support. I hope I make you feel the same way, because there is nothing worse than to feel alone with my fears.

~ by devildog6771 on March 4, 2005.

2 Responses to “My reply to anonymous”

  1. Thank you AN. Believe me the feeling is mutual!

  2. You are far from alone. I am releived to see such a warm heart-felt soul. I read your blog often,and appreciate everything you give me. Please know you give this lady something to smile about in such uncertian times. I thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
