Got a wonderful email today


I got a really nice email today from friends of Mike. It brought tears to my eyes. It was so nice to know that my love and grief over Mike’s death is shared. Not because misery loves company, but because pain and grief shared becomes more tolerable.

Mike touched our lives and that of so many others in a way that brought joy and happiness to those around him. As Saturday approaches, I find my sorrow becomes even greater. I have on occasion gone to visit him at his grave site at night to talk to him.

It is a moving experience. All over the cemetary and near Mike’s headstone are lamps that are powered by the sun. At night they come on, scattered randomly throughout the cemetary like sentinnals watching over our loved ones.

Their soft, shadowed glow gives the appearance of a warm blanket embracing the souls of our loved ones. It somehow takes away some of the erie loneliness I feel everytime I go there.

~ by devildog6771 on March 4, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
