A soldier’s Prayer


Prayer

Image by Chris Yarzab via Flickr

“Hear My Prayer”

Please God, hear my prayer, I beg you on this day;
Look out for my little girls because I have to go away.

To a hot unfriendly land, I’m marching off to war;
The President says I’m needed on a distant shore.

Tell them dad’s got something important to do, our country’s issued its call.
I’ve got to make sure our troops get what they need to keep it safe for all.

Tell them often I love them and I’ll will be back before they know it.
That I don’t want to leave them, but I have to do my bit.

Tell them I don’t believe in war and I don’t like guns and knives.
But there’s these terrorists over there who have no value for human lives.

They’ve bombed our embassies, attacked our ships, and toppled the Twin Towers.
For over seventeen years they’ve waged their war; and tried to make us cower!

So tell my little girls be brave and say their daily prayers for me;
That before they know it, I’ll be home with them upon my knee.

So once again I beg you God, look kindly on your soldier;
Look after my little girls God, please, hear my prayer!

seeker

~ by devildog6771 on February 17, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
