Who stole my food from the refrigerator


While I was in San Diego going to school a change was made for the women students. A building became empty so they moved us into that building. Wow, it was great. We had rooms with two people to a room. We had a kitchen with a stove and a refrigerator. We had a huge bathroom with a “real” bath tub! We were all so happy.
So, we moved in and then we all began to fix up our rooms. I had the greatest roommate. So we had a lot of fun.One of the girls knew someone in the mess hall. So sometimes, as long as we didn’t get greedy, we could get food to put in the refrigerator. None of us made a lot of money then so this was so cool. We did have to be careful not to get caught though!!! [lol]. Anyway we could get steaks, chicken and other stuff that really cost a lot for free. That made it easy for us to get luxury things like cake mixes, pudding, and other little special things we all missed from being at home. We cooked them ourselves. It was almost like being at college or out on our own.
Many of us brought our friends in to visit and we all cooperated so you could cook and share a meal if you wanted. Or, you could serve them coffee or tea [yeah right!] Ok, well we did do our share of drinking and partying; but, you couldn’t do that all the time. So we did act like normal, responsible people sometimes!! Anyway, as usually happens, we noticed food would disappear. At first we thought maybe we just forgot we ate something or one of us would eat something and just forget to say anything. But as time went on, the thefts got more frequent and bolder. But no one would own up to taking or eating the food. One day I bought some chocolate pudding and made enough for several servings for me, my roommate, and a couple other people. The next day when I went to the fridge to get it, it was gone! God, I was so mad.
No matter how hard we watched the fridge we couldn’t catch the thief. So, I thought to myself, I’m really getting sick and tired of this. I’m going catch the b@#$@&d stealing my food. But, how??
Then I formed a plan in my head. [hm, hmmmm!!!] I bought a package of Exlax, some more chocolate pudding, and some small dessert size foil tins. I cooked the pudding and I put a “whole square” of Exlax melted and stirred up in each tin of pudding. Of course I didn’t realize at the time that that amount of exlax could really do a job on someone. I just wanted to make them have to go the the bathroom enough that we could catch the thief. Anyway, I let it all cool. Then I put the tins of “doctored” pudding in the refrigerator, all four of them. I did all this one night before I went to bed on the weekend when no one else was around.
The next morning the pudding was gone. My roommate also came back from an overnight “visit” with a “friend.” I told her what I did and she said, “Oh my God, you’re going to kill them!” Well, I was pretty upset about that! I didn’t want to hurt anyone. I just wanted to catch the thief by watching the bathroom. Well, we watched our bathroom night and day in shifts, but we never caught the thief. We decided that, as we had suspected, it was someone from outside our group in the permanent party people. They were mad the students got to move into that building and they still had to live in the barracks. They didn’t think we earned that right since we were only “students.” But, no one ever stole our food again. For months after that we all laughed about the pudding incident. By then I had told all the others living there. We bought whatever we wanted; and’ we “requisitioned” food from the mess hall. We ate like “Queens.”

~ by devildog6771 on December 14, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
